Where I’ve been

Hello, world! It’s certainly been a while since I posted anything here (so much shame!). It’s just that 2017 was such a big year for me. I bought my first house! I quit my job of seven years and started a new one! I completed another successful NaNoWriMo and wrote A LOT of words throughout the year. But being caught up in all of that meant that my blogging ended up falling off a bit. But now I find myself wanting to come back to it. Why? Because I have OTHER big plans for 2018, and I hope to document it all here.

So until I get started on those plans, I’d thought I’d keep you up to date on some of the things I have been writing. Because I’ve been doing plenty of blogging, but just not here. Below you can find a list for all of my posts on the fanzine Speculative Chic. That includes my regular monthly column (where I talk about books, comics, fiction serials, and even video games and music), as well as my contributions to group columns. There are the Sound Offs, which are (mostly) reviews of current movies, Roundtables, where we share our thoughts on a particular topic, and My Favorite Things where we talk about our speculative favs. Interestingly enough, I also used to edit My Favorite Things, but dropped it when 2017 got too overwhelming. The column still exists, but as a solo column (I even did one this November!).

So until I start getting new material up here, check out the following links:

Monthly Columns
January- Psychic Romances and Passive Protagonists: A Review of Connie Willis’s Crosstalk
February- Wonder Woman Comics: Five Suggestions for New Readers
March- Shaking up the Genre: A Review of Mishell Baker’s Borderline
April- “The Flow of Time is Always Cruel”: On Finally Finishing The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
May- Doomed Love: Superman, Wonder Woman, and the Failure of Relationships in Superhero Comics
June- Television in Book Form: A Review of the Serial Bookburners
July- Reading the Hugos: Best Graphic Story
August- Magic at the Vatican: Bookburners Levels Up in Season Two
September- Women of DC Rebirth
October- Give Brains a Chance: Five Reasons Why You Should Check Out the White Trash Zombie Series
November- A Team Divided: The Serial Bookburners Goes Big and Small in Season Three and My Favorite Things with Nancy O’Toole Meservier
December- One Nerd + One Violin = Endless Possibilities: An Introduction to the Music Videos of Taylor Davis

Sound Offs
Hidden Figures
Zootopia (Throwback Sound Off)
Deadpool (Throwback Sound Off)
Guardians of the Galaxy, vol 2
When the Moon Was Ours (Triptee Winning Book)
Wonder Woman
Spider-Man: Homecoming
IT
Thor: Ragnarock
Justice League
Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Roundtables
Resolution Project 2017 (The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time)
My First Fandom (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)
Favorite Love Stories (The Glamourist Histories)
Leave it Alone! (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)
Finales that Fell Flat (Fables)
Cancellations that Killed Us (The Legend of Wonder Woman)
How’d We Do? Resolution Project Wrap up-2017 (The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time)
Biggest Disappointments of 2017 (The Treatment of Iris West)
Future Favorites: Our Most Anticipated Releases of 2018 (The Lady Astronaut Series)
Resolution Project 2018 (Oathbringer)

My Favorite Things
My Favorite Things: Fantastic Beasts, Nerdy Handbags, Wonder Woman, and Custom-Made Comic Book Covers (Greg Rucka’s First Run on Wonder Woman)
My Favorite Things: Graphic Novel Adaptations and Complex Characters (The Obelisk Gate)
My Favorite Things: Mad Scientists, Life Model Decoys, Horror Biographies, Episodic Board Games, and The Legend of Zelda (Agents of SHIELD: LMD Story arc)
Non-Speculative Edition (Capsule Wardrobes)
My Favorite Things: The CW, Comedic Sci-Fi, Cartoon Cats, and Penny Dreadful Continued (Arrow’s Prometheus)
My Favorite Things: Fantasy Video Games, Obscure Fairy Tales, and Ghost Stories (Erstwhile)
My Favorite Things: New Gods, Monstrous Comics, and “Lost Girls” (The music video for Lindsey Stirling’s “Lost Girls”)

Leave a comment