Everything I Read in October 2014

Similar to the “everything I watched post” for last month, if you want to see what I read for the months that I didn’t update here, you can check out my goodreads, or pinterest page.

And now, for October! I got a lot of reading done this month. Links go to goodreads reviews

Books
Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed– BEST BOOK
Think Like a Cat: How to Raise a Well Adjusted Cat, Not a Sour Puss by Pam Johnson-Bennett

Audiobooks
The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie
Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach
Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig
Late Eclipses by Seanan McGuire– BEST AUDIOBOOK

Short Ebooks
The Card Sharp by Laura Lam– BEST SHORT EBOOK
Hunting Monsters by SL Huang

Literary Magazines
Fantasy Magazine, October 2014. Women Destory Fantasy Special Issue

Graphic Novels
Thor, the God of Thunder, vol 3: The Accursed by Jason Aaron
Batgirl, vol 1: The Darkest Reflection by Gail Simone
Batman, vol 4: Zero Year- Secret City by Scott Snyder
Sex Criminals, Vol 1: One Weird Trick by Matt Fraction– BEST GRAPHIC NOVEL
Batgirl, vol 2: Knigtfall Descends by Gail Simone
Batgirl, vol 3: Death of the Family by Gail Simone

Single Issue Comics
All New X-men #32
Angel and Faith: Season 10 #7
Black Widow #11
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season 10 #7-8
Cyclops #5
Death of Wolverine #2-4
Death of Wolverine: The Logan Legacy #1
Guardians of the Galaxy #19
Lazarus #12
Miles Morales: Ultimate Spiderman #6- BEST COMIC THAT’S NOT SAGA
Saga #24- BEST COMIC
She-Hulk #9
Superior Spiderman #14-16
Thor #1
Uncanny X-men #26-27
Veil #5

2 thoughts on “Everything I Read in October 2014

  1. Ooooh, so much good stuff! What’d you think of the Chang? I’ve been wanting to read that for a while. Also the Bach? That’s on my Kindle.

    I see you enjoyed BATGIRL enough to keep reading! Yay! And SEX CRIMS absolutely rocks.

    Lastly, thoughts on THOR #1?

    Gotta catch up on SAGA…..

    • I enjoyed Stories of Your Life and Others, although not all of the stories worked for me. The ones that did, worked VERY well though. As far as Fortune’s Pawn goes, I thought that was pretty good, even if the action sequences got a little monotonous after a while.
      Batgirl is good! I feel like the crossover events can weaken it sometimes, but Babs is such a sympathetic character.
      As for Thor #1, after all the complaining from the peanut gallery, I found it to be a satisfactory starting issue. Marvel readers confuse me sometimes. I mean, this isn’t the first time Marvel has done something convoluted to switch up one of their superheroes. Superior Spiderman JUST HAPPENED and it was such a success, despite all the nerd rage in the beginning. Give it a try before you trash it.
      And this is shaping up to be my favorite Saga arc.

      Batgirl is good! I feel like the crossover events can weaken it sometimes, but Babs is such a sympathetic character.

      As for Thor #1, after all the complaining from the peanut gallery, I found it to be a satisfactory starting issue. Marvel readers confuse me sometimes. I mean, this isn’t the first time Marvel has done something convoluted to switch up one of their superheroes, and everyone pretty much loved Superior Spiderman in the end.

      And I think that this was my favorite Saga arc so far.

Leave a Reply

