Getting back on track with NaNoWriMo

Ye gads has it been a bad season for writing.

It started going downhill in late August. Since then I’ve just had no motivation to write. I guess all of those rejection letters and lack of progress really got to me, not to mention other sources of frustration from my personal life (don’t worry! everything’s going fine!). A combined feeling of “what’s the point” combined with “and you’re not really all that good at this anyway” can be dangerous.

I’m hoping the one thing that will get me back on track is NaNoWriMo, because I’ve done well with that in the past. Every time I’ve attempted NaNo I’ve won, and I’ve gotten good at seeing the project through after NaNo as well.

I’m trying to stay positive, to push away all these insecurities and just enjoy writing like I used to. I’m embarrassed at how hard it’s turning out to be, but I have a feeling once I get going again, things will get better. I just need to find that flow again.

So is anyone else doing NaNoWriMo this year? My profile can be found right here. This is the first year that the local write ins have worked for my schedule, and I’m tempted to try them. Writing is just such as isolated activity for me. It would be nice if I tried to be social once and a while!

Hopefully, this will help me get back on track, both with writing and this much neglected blog!

2 thoughts on “Getting back on track with NaNoWriMo

  1. This is the third year of NaNoWriMo for me – I’ve never won, but added 6k and 4k of words to my work in progress in previous years. Hope you’re rekindling your enthusiasm!
    As for the write-ins: Do attend them – I went to those in three different cities and met awesome people at every one of them.
    Here’s my NaNoWriMo profile: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/kai-herbertz
    Oh and here is a thread I found interesting (participated last year), where Chris Kelworth is looking for NaNoWriMo writers to spotlight on his blog: http://nanowrimo.org/forums/marketing-self-promotion-and-stuff-for-sale/threads/174453

    • Glad to hear you’re jumping on board again! Hopefully you’ll see progress again this year.

      Thanks for the encouragement on the write-ins. I’m not sure how they’ll work for me. but I think it’s worth going to the first one at least!

Leave a Reply

