August Writing Update

Hello, much neglected blog! I’ve barely updated over the past month for a couple reasons. At first it’s because the writing wasn’t going well at all. I just found myself in a funk. I didn’t want to write anything longer than a tweet, never mind a novel or even a blog post or book review on goodreads. With a new project on the horizon, that wasn’t a good thing at all. After a few weeks of very little production (and, let’s be honest, all of it was pretty shitty), I decided the only way to deal with it was to completely change everything that I was doing, and hope for the best.

And you know what, it’s actually worked!

As someone who’s been writing in the mornings for over a year now, I decided to move my writing time to 9:30-10:30 at night. I also changed from laptop only writing to pen and paper. I scrapped the novel idea that’s been lingering in my head for a while now for one that I’ve only been mulling over for a few months. And instead of obsessing over word counts, I began to keep track of the amount of pages I had written. This project has only been going on for a little over a week, but it’s been going really well. I’m almost afraid to talk about it, as I don’t want to jinx myself! But needless to say, it’s a portal fantasy novel intended for adults, meaning I can be a little freer about the f-bombs than I was with my YA stuff.

Writing a lengthily project by hand provides an interesting challenge. It irritates my wrists a little bit, which have never been the same since I worked in a call center for two years and spent the whole day typing, but the fact that I immediately go to bed afterwards and don’t use them for a solid 8 hours helps a lot. It’s slowed down my production some- I write pretty fast, but I type faster- but it seems to be worth the sacrifice. I’ve also burned through four pens already, but given that the majority of my pen collection had, previous to this summer, been living in the old Civic for god knows how long. It’s a miracle some of them even work at all!

I guess this teaches me the drawbacks of being too comfortable. Do the same thing over and over again for too long and writing can just get boring. This is great motivation to switch up my schedule every now and then. Hopefully by next month, I’ll have written many more pages!

Leave a Reply

