Everything I Read in July 2014

Very light on the reading this month. Guess reading all of those Hugo moms wore me out a bit. Links to to goodreads, when available.

Books
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Audiobooks
Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson– BEST AUDIOBOOK OF THE MONTH
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Short Ebooks
The Exchange Officers by Brad Torgensen
The Truth of Fact, The Truth of Feeling by Ted Chiang- BEST SHORT FICTION OF THE MONTH
Wakulla Springs by Andy Duncan and Ellen Klages
The Fisherman’s Net by Laura Lam

Graphic Novels
Justice League Dark, Vol 3: The Death of Magic by Jeff Lemire

Comics
All New X-men #29
Angel and Faith, Season 10: #4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 10: #4-5
Guardians of the Galaxy #16- BEST COMIC THAT’S NOT SAGA
Lazarus #9
Rocket Girl #5
Saga #20-21- BEST COMIC OF THE MONTH
Serenity: Leaves on the Wind #6
Superior Spider-man #3-5
Veil #3
The Wake #8-9
Wolverine #9-10

3 thoughts on “Everything I Read in July 2014

  1. Thoughts on 13 REASONS WHY? I had issues with that book…..

    Oh, lord….. did Jenny Lawson read her own book for audio? I bet that was a riot! I love reading her stuff!

    And yes, Hugos do take a lot out of you. I’m glad it’s over!

    • I liked it, although I wasn’t as enamored with it as other readers I knew. I felt like the character of Hannah came off a little flat. She was so solely defined by showing us the negative results of slut shaming and the teen suicide that she didn’t seem to have much of a personalty beyond that. I guess that’s what happens when you try and purposely write a book with a message? Anyway, I enjoyed it beyond that. Fast read.

      And YES Jenny Lawson’s reading was amazing. Few books have made me laugh so hard.

Leave a Reply

