Everything I Read in May 2014

I’ve been neglecting this blog lately. Let’s bring things back with a list of everything I read in May. The comic list, you may notice, is shorter than normal. That’s because I never got a chance to go to the comic book store this month due to working so many extra hours at my day job. So all that’s listed there are the comics I borrow from my husband, as he buys his digitally.

Links lead to goodreads reviews.

Books Read
Parasite by Mira Grant– Favorite Book of the Month
The Martian by Andy Weir
The Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu

Audiobooks Read
Celebromancy by Michael R. Underwood
Storm of Swords by George RR Martin
Valour and Vanity by Mary Robinette Kowal– Favorite Audiobook of the Month
The Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan
The Girl Who Soared over Fairyland and Cut the World in Two by Catherynne M. Valente

Novellas Read
Six Gun Snow White by Catherynne. M. Valente

Graphic Novels Read
The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi– Favorite Graphic Novel of the Month
X-23, vol 3: Don’t Look Back by Marjorie M. Liu
Batman, Vol 1: The Court of Owls by Scott Snyder

Comics Read
All New Ultimates #1
All-New X-men #26-27- Favorite Comic of the Month
Cyclops #1
Miles Morales: The Ultimate Spiderman #1
Black Widow #5
Ultimate Spiderman #200
Wolverine #5-6

4 thoughts on “Everything I Read in May 2014

  1. Isn’t he your husband now? πŸ˜‰

    Tell me your thoughts on THE MARTIAN. I’m torn on trying that one.

    • D’oh! Gotta fix that one.

      As for The Martian, I liked it as opposed to loved it, which is strange because most people loved it. I admire it for how readable it is given its dense subject matter, and I really liked the main character. At the same time, its almost written entirely in dialogue, or in written reports, which only draws attention to the fact that a lot of the characters sound really similar, which can make the secondary cast seem pretty interchangeable.

      Still, I’m happy I picked it up and would recommend it to others.

Leave a Reply

