My Current Projects- May 2014

I haven’t done one of these posts in a while, so I figured it was time to do one again. Here are my current writing projects.

Actively Working On
Hero of Darkwood (Second Draft)- After spending a month away for it, I began the second draft of Hero of Darkwood today. This is the third book in the Lady Darkwood trilogy, and my big project for the year. The process has been a series of highs and lows. It’s thrilling to see a the book improve with every round of revision but as I get more and more rejection letters in for Lady of Darkwood (book 1 in the Lya Darkwood trilogy), I’m beginning to doubt whether this particular novel will ever truly see the light of day. Still, I keep on telling myself that even if this series is never published, the experience I’ve gotten from it is invaluable. Also, I really like the book, so that has to count for something.

Lying in Wait
The Dragon Guard- This is a sci-fi(ish) short story that’s shaped up over the past month. It takes place in a world that I had originally planned a novel for, but kind of wanted to play around with before I committed myself to such a long writing project. Figuring out what world building elements to include in the short story, versus the novel was very tricky and resulted in several false starts. Fortunately, once I figured out what I wanted to do, the writing process was much smoother.  Right now, it’s in the hands of a couple of my first readers, and then I’ll figure out for sure if I want to do anything with it.

Submission Phase
The Lya Darkwood Trilogy- As mentioned above, Lady of Darkwood is currently seeking an agent or publisher. It’s the first book in a YA fantasy trilogy that takes part in a secondary world. The trilogy is very concerned with the idea of power: the idea of the strong versus the weak, and the proper use of said power once you happen to acquire it. Also, flashy magic and romance-y stuff, because that’s always fun.

The Lady of the Watchtower- A retelling of Beauty and the Beast where the main characters is both the Beauty and the Beast. Hopefully, this will find a home somewhere. The fact that it’s a longer (a novelette verses a short story) work makes things kind of tricky. I’m learning with this one that it’s not the best idea to write anything over 7,000 words (in face, under 5,000 seems ideal) if you’re looking to sell it.

Publication Phase
The Fox- This story, in which I attempt to mix a traditional fantasy setting with urban fantasy sensibilities, will be coming out in July’s issue of The Lorelei Signal. Very excited about this one!

Gretel- Clearly, I’m a sucker for retold fairy tales, as this is a modern day retelling of Hansel and Gretel. Very different in tone from The Fox, which is interesting because I wrote the pair of stories around the same time. This will be coming out in less than two weeks with Luna Station Quarterly.

So those are my projects. Anyone else working on anything interesting?

Leave a Reply

