Monthly Writing Goals: February and March

Let’s see how I did on my monthly writing goals for February.

1. Add 20,000 words to the revised first draft of Hero of Darkwood
2. Update Query Letter
3. Submit Lady of Darkwood to 10 Agents/Publishers

Done, done, and done! I actually surpassed the first one, where I actually made it 26,000+ words into my revisions of Hero of Darkwood, which kind of surprised me, as I had to take more days off this month. But I had quite a few days when I was able to get a nice chunk of writing time in, so that helped a lot.

Now let’s go to my March goals,

1. Get 25,000 words further into the revised first draft of Hero of Darkwood
2. Spend a week (7 hours of writing) on short fiction

This, as you may notice, is less than I accomplished in the shorter month of February, but where as we’re getting close to my wedding date, and I’m working a bunch of extra hours next month, I feel the need to scale back my expectations back a little. I’m not a big fan of setting oneself up to fail. Instead, I try to focus on goals that are obtainable, but only with persistence.

Oh! And I also got some rather positive news today. I can’t share any of it until next week, but I can’t wait to post about it here. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Monthly Writing Goals: February and March

  1. Good for you surpassing your goal in February!

    I am also a fan of obtainable goals. Failure to meet a hard goal bums me out, no matter how high I set the bar, and then I’m less enthused with my next goals.

    I hope you have a very fun wedding day 🙂

    • Yeah. I noticed during NaNoWriMo, there would be all these people who just couldn’t make 50k, and it left them feeling all defeated. Some people write faster then others (I write pretty fast, but I edit kind of slow), and there’s nothing wrong with that, you know?

Leave a Reply

