Everything I Read in January

Trying something new this month, and I’m going to link all of the books I read to my goodreads reviews. The reviews are nothing special, but if you’re curious what I thought, well there you go! I’m also open to discussing things here. Quiet month for comics it seems.

Books
Dust by Hugh Howey
Wild Justice by Kelley Armstrong– Best Book of the Month
Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Audiobooks
Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire
The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson– Best Audiobook of the Month
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Short Ebooks
21 Reasons You Think you Don’t have Time to Write by Mette Ivie Harrison
The Stolen Throne by Gary Hauger

Graphic Novels
Alias, Vol 2: Come Home by Brian Michael Bendis
Fables, Vol 19: Snow White by Bill Willingham
Alias, Vol 3: The Underneath by Brian Michael Bendis– Best Graphic Novel of the Month

Comics
All New X-men 21-22 (#22- Best comic of the month)
Amazing X-Men #1-3
Black Widow #1
Mighty Avengers #5
Guardians of the Galaxy #10
Ultimate Spider-man Cataclysm #3
Velvet #3
The Wake #5
X-men #9

3 thoughts on “Everything I Read in January

  1. You’ll need to keep an eye out for Black Widow #2! It’s already out, and #3 should be out in a few weeks!

    Yay for WILD JUSTICE!!!!

    Also, how did you like the end of ALLEGIANT? You can email me if you want, since it involves talking MAJOR spoilers. πŸ™‚

    • I’ll be picking up #2 the next chance I get. I really enjoy the artwork. I’ve only seen Noto do covers before, so I’m curious to see how long he’ll stick around.

      And yes, Yay for Wild Justice πŸ™‚

      As for Allegiant, I actually don’t have too many issues with the ending. I really don’t know why that’s the problem so many people have with the book. I did end up taking issue with other aspects, the biggest one being the fact that the Four chapters were written in the exact same voice as the Tris chapters. It just didn’t make sense to me, given how different the two characters were. Also, as someone that doesn’t always stop and start a book and chapter breaks, I didn’t always know who I was reading about when I picked up the book. Confusing.

      • Ooooh, good call on the voice. Okay, but I’m going to email you, because I want to specifically mention a SPOILER and I don’t want to accidentally ruin the trilogy for anyone. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

