Intriguing New Comics

I haven’t done a comic book post in a while, so now seemed like a good time to make an update about some of the new titles on my radar. Some of these have already made it to my pull list, others are still too soon to tell, and others haven’t even been released yet. Either way, they’ve certainly caught my attention!

velvet1_2x3_72
Velvet (Image Comics)
Writer: Ed Brubaker
Artist: Steve Epting
Velvet is a fantastic new spy series centered around a secretary named Velvet, who’s much more than she seems. There’s so much about this comic that really works for me. The artist does a fantastic job bringing Velvet to life, designing a women in her 40s who actually looks like she could be in her 40s. Brubaker’s characterization is worth mentioning too. Velvet is a satisfyingly smart and tough heroine, but she doesn’t feel too good to be true. There are still some things that surprise her (and the reader too!). We’re three issues into this one now, and it’s already found a permanent place in my pull list.

PrettyDeadly_03-1
Pretty Deadly (Image Comics)
Writer: Kelley Su DeConnick
Artist: Emma Rios
Her run on Captain Marvel proved that DeConnick could write a satisfying mainstream title, but Pretty Deadly shows that she can write more unique fare as well. But what brings this weird western to the next level is its gorgeous artwork by Emma Rios. To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of her work when she was doing Captain Marvel, but this title fits her style perfectly. The comic’s one flaw would have to be the fact that its storytelling can be a little muddled, but so far it’s been worth my patience.

tumblr_muvk2uXJfe1qdrrzwo2_r1_1280
Rocket Girl (Image Comics)
Writer: Brandon Montclare
Artist: Amy Reeder
Looking for something that’s just plain fun? Then Rocket Girl is worth checking out. This bright and colorful title tells the story about a fifteen year old cop that travels back in time from modern day to 1986. Only DaYoung’s modern day looks nothing like ours. Instead, it looks exactly like the future the 1980s predicted we’d see. I’ve been a fan of Amy Reeder’s vibrant art style since picking up the first trade paperback of Madame Xanadu, and I’m happy to report that her skills remain sharp with this title. My only complaint here is that Montclare’s writing isn’t always as strong as Reeder’s artwork, but it’s a fun ride never the less.

BlackWidow1
Black Widow (Marvel)
Writer: Henry Edmonson
Artist: Phil Noto
We’ve only gotten one issue of Black Widow out, meaning it hasn’t made it to my pull list quite yet (I like to give the title a couple issues at least), but there was enough good about it to catch my attention. Phil Noto, who I remember from his work on the covers of the Dollhouse comic, has a really unique art style, almost photo realistic one moment, then sketchy the next, and it really draws me in. The first issue did a satisfying job of introducing the reader to who Black Widow is. I hope future issues will do just as well bringing her into some larger storylines.

Future Releases

LokiAsgard
Loki: Agent of Asgard (Marvel)
Writer: Al Ewing
Artist: Lee Garbett
I must admit, although I do enjoy the Thor movies, and Tom Hiddleston’s depiction of Loki, I’ve never experienced the character in comic book format. This title seems as good of a place to start as any! I’ve also heard that the title will have kind of an espionage slant, making this the third spy title on this list, after Velvet and Black Widow. I certainly have my tastes, don’t I?

MsMarvel
Ms. Marvel (Marvel)
Writer: G. Willow Wilson
Artist: Adrian Alphona
I’m a sucker for “teenager discovers she has powers” type storylines, and this one, which focuses on a Muslim teenager, sounds like a great match for me! I’ve also heard positive things about G. Willow Wilson, so this looks like a great place to try out her work.

SerenityLeaves
Serenity: Leaves on the Wind (Dark Horse)
Writer: Zack Whedon
Artist: George Jeantry
New series of Serenity comics I can’t waaaait! Why aren’t they out noooooow!?

So those are the new titles that have caught my attention. Any other recent releases I should be checking out?

2 thoughts on “Intriguing New Comics

  1. Lazarus by Greg Rucka and Michael Lark, Suicide Risk by Mike Carey, Black Science by Rick Remender, and Deadly Class by him as well. Captain Midnight and Ghosted by Joshua Williamson are fantastic, the new Red Sonja by Gail Simone and All-New X-Factor by Peter David and Eternal Warrior from Valiant has been good so far.

    There are a lot of good titles being released lately worth checking out – almost too many. lol

    • I’m also digging Lazarus. Greg Rucka and Michael Lark are a fantastic team. I’ve heard quite good things about the two Rick Remember titles. I was actually thinking about picking up Deadly Class the next time I hit the comic book shop!

      I’ve heard more mixed things about the Red Sonja book. I’m tempted to check out the trade from my library once I’m able to. Seems like it’s worth a short.

Leave a Reply

