Recommended Resource: 21 Reasons You Think You Don’t Have Time To Write

So far, all of my recommended resources have been web based (mostly web sites, with one podcast), but I found myself enjoying this ebook so much that I figured it was time to branch out a bit. 21 Reasons You Think You Don’t have Time to Write by Mette Ivie Harrison is a free ebook I got off of amazon (unfortunately,  it’s not free anymore! Maybe keep an eye on it?). I first discovered the existence of this book when the author appeared on the Writing Excuses podcast. On the podcast, she talked about how one of the most common questions she got from people was how to find more time to write. She soon realized that these questions were less about time management, and more about eliminating obstacles that make you think you have no time to write. Some of these are external (“friends” who don’t see writing as a worthwhile use of your time), but all of them are things you have control over.

I’m really happy that I read the ebook (which is pretty short at just over 63-pages long). Ivie Harrison gives fantastic advice, and delivers it in a clear and concise manner. She’s also someone that’s clearly been there before, and uses many examples from her own writing career. I almost wish I had discovered it a little over a year ago when I first determined that I was going to take my writing seriously, as it would have helped me learn some lessons that I had to stumble through on my own. The one drawback of the book is while the message is good, it has a lot of formatting issues. How much you’re going to  enjoy the ebook is based on your tolerance for that sort of thing.

The author has written various other books, both fiction and on the subject of writing. I haven’t read any of them yet, but my enjoyment of 21 Reasons has convinced me to give them a try in the future.

4 thoughts on “Recommended Resource: 21 Reasons You Think You Don’t Have Time To Write

  1. I haven’t listened to the most recent podcast, but I plan to this week. Thanks for the shout-out on that book! Not sure if the formatting issues will drive me batty or not.

  2. Pingback: Recommended Resource: Characterization, Opinions, and Surprises According to Writing Excuses | Picking Up the Pen

Leave a Reply

