January Goals

One thing I noticed last year is that I tend to do a lot better with my writing when I make goals at the beginning of the month. This could be see with NaNoWriMo, as well as my Month of Submissions I did in September (which, interestingly was one of the best months on this blog hits wise, while November/NaNo was one of the worst). As a result, I’m flirting with the idea of making monthly writing goals, if not every month then every time I want to really focus on a particular project. I’m going to test that out this month. Here are my writing goals:

1. Spend at least 34 hours working on my writing.
2. Get to 30,000 words on my first draft of Hero of Darkwood
3. Do final edits on Leader of Darkwood (about 40 pages)

The first goal ties into my yearly goal of spending 400 hours working on my writing. The second is going to be the big challenge for the month. Sure, I wrote more than twice that during NaNoWriMo, but we’re past the no-seat belt write as fast as you can rough draft phase. We’re working on revisions now, which so far have been haaaaard. Also, this is where my drafts start to shrink, so the 30,000 word mark in my first draft should be nowhere near where it was in my rough draft. The third goal is to basically put the finishing touches on the last forty pages of last year’s big project, Leader of Darkwood. This is something I could have finished in December, had the month had 32 days in it. It kind of bugs me that I wasn’t able to quite get to the end.

Anyway, these are my writing goals for the month of January. Let’s see if I can stick to them!

2 thoughts on “January Goals

  1. Not a bad idea! BTW: I sent you an email. You may or may not be interested in it, or you may already know, but hey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

