New Years Resolutions

I always give myself several new years resolutions. It might be because I have too many things I want to do, or because I know there’s no way in hell that I’ll be able to complete them all. It takes away the sting somewhat to be successful in some, if you can’t have them all. Looking back on my 2013 resolutions, I can see some areas where I did really well, and some where I failed hard.

First off, let’s go with writing. Last year, I wanted to start being really serious about my writing by writing for an average of an hour a day for a total of 365 hours. This is something I did really well on, as I surpassed that number with over 375 hours. There were other writing goals I fell short on. I wanted this to be the year that would move towards Lady of Darkwood published, or at least get an agent. I also wanted to get a short story published. While I did a lot of submissions, these are two areas that I failed in, which makes me a little sad. I know that this is pretty normal for most writers, that everyone faces plenty of rejection before they make it, but it can feel a little bit like bashing one’s head into a wall sometimes.

As a reader, I set my normal goal for reading 100 books, which I surpassed with 111. I also wanted to get that TBR under control by making sure I didn’t add as many books as I took out. This is one ares where I really failed. Thanks to paperbackswap books, and audible sales, I have fifteen extra books in my TBR! Clearly, next year I need to take that one more seriously.

On health, I wanted to create a more regular exercise regimen, which I did really well with for about six months, and then failed at for the rest of the year. Also in the real life zone, I wanted to make significant progress on wedding plans, which I did, even if I’m not as ahead as I should be.

This brings us to next year, where we have a whole new list of Resolutions to look at. Let’s see how I do this year in the following areas:

Writing
1. Work on writing for a total of 400 hours- Upping up the amount this year given that next year’s writing project (Hero of Darkwood) is quite a bit longer than this year’s was.
2. Submit Lady of Darkwood to a total of 50 new agents and/or publishers.
3. Research self publishing.

Reading
1. Read 100 books
2. Keep the TBR the same size. So for every book I add to it, I need to take one away
3. Read more books by small presses and self published authors

Real Life
1. Exercise for 30 minutes, three times a week
2. Pull off a successful wedding
3. Stick to a budget I’ve set up for myself

So how did you do on last year’s resolutions. Have any for 2014, or are you going to wing it?

5 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions

  1. I wanted this to be the year that would move towards Lady of Darkwood published, or at least get an agent. I also wanted to get a short story published.

    Resolutions like that are hard because short of sending out the work, you have NO control of the outcome. That’s one of the things we’ve talked about in my various workshops where we’re warned not to set ourselves up for disappointment. This year’s resolution of “Submit Lady of Darkwood to a total of 50 new agents and/or publishers.” is EXACTLY the type of resolution that needs to be made. It’s tangible, it’s doable, and if you fail, it’s because you didn’t do the work, not because you’re waiting on someone else’s response and that response could very well be no.

    I wish you the best of luck! I need to put up a similar post myself. 🙂 When’s the wedding?

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

  2. Pingback: Resolutions Writers Should Have | Pen-to-Paper

Leave a Reply

