2013 in Movies: Final Report Card

This year, I saw twenty-seven 2013 movie releases. Most of these were in the theater, but five I managed to get from the library once they hit DVD. I didn’t get to see all of the movies I wanted to. There were ones that did not come to my local theater (12 Years a Slave, Her), were released during times that there was too much to see at the theater (World War Z), or were released at times I simply didn’t have any spare cash (Gravity, and yes I know it’s borderline offensive that I have not seen this movie yet!). As a result, this list is pretty incomplete. But here are the movies that I hoped were worthy of my time this year. Not all of them were great (you’ll notice that I only have two As, meaning not too many movies blew me away), but not all of them were awful. The majority of the movies I saw were B-range, which I think pretty accurately describes the year. Here’s hoping next year can deliver some high quality flicks.

So here are the movies I saw in 2013, listed from best to worst.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire- A
The World’s End- A-
Thor: The Dark World- B+
Pacific Rim- B+
Much Ado About Nothing- B+
Frozen- B+
Monsters University- B+
The Gamers: Hands of Fate- B+
Star Trek: Into Darkness- B+
Elysium- B
The Wolverine- B
From up on Poppy Hill- B
The Croods- B
The Heat- B
This is the End- B
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug- B
Europa Report- B-
Despicable Me 2- B-
Warm Bodies- C+
Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues- C+
Iron Man 3- C+
Man of Steel- C
Epic- C-
Ender’s Game- C-
Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters- C-
Oz: The Great and Powerful- C-
Kick Ass 2- D+

2 thoughts on “2013 in Movies: Final Report Card

  1. Gravity, and yes I know it’s borderline offensive that I have not seen this movie yet!

    Yes. Yes it is. 🙂 But you’re not alone, as I’ve got a few friends who haven’t seen it either, and they don’t have your excuse!

Leave a Reply

