15 Reasons Why I’m Excited about 2014

2014 is just around the corner, so I’ve been seeing lots of lists for most anticipated books/movies/etc, so I thought I’d make my own! But instead on focusing on just one category, I figured I’d just cover everything. So here are the 15 reasons why I’m all excited about 2014.

FifthSeason

The Fifth Season by NK Jemisin– Starting off with some books. So far, I’ve been really happy with everything NK Jemisin has put out, so when I heard that she was launching a new series, I was already excited. The description is pretty vague, but is makes me think “post apocalyptic fantasy” which sounds fantastic.

MirrorSight

Mirror Sight by Kristen Britain– Kristen Britain is my George RR Martin. I jumped onto her Green Rider Series early, and ever since then I have been suffering from the multi-year gaps between books. Book five (which looks to be a whopping 992 pages) will be coming out this year and I am SO HAPPY to finally see what happened to Karigan after that painful cliffhanger in Blackveil. Seriously, you can do jaw dropping cliffhangers, or you can make us wait years between books. You can’t make us suffer though both!

ShardsTime
Shards of Time by Lynn Flewelling- With Shards of Time we will have hit the seventh and final book in the Nightrunner series. Given how fantastic these books are, I’ll be sad to say goodbye to these characters, but it’s nice to find an author who knows when it’s time to say those goodbyes.

ValourVanity
Valour and Vanity by Mary Robinette Kowal- Combining my favorite aspects of Fantasy and Jane Austen, Mary Robinette Kowal’s Glamourist Histories series was one of my favorite finds of 2013. I’m really excited to check out Valour and Vanity which promises to be a heist story on top of everything else.

TrialofJeanGrey

The Trial of Jean Grey- Now we move into comics! I’m not always a fan of crossover events, but this upcoming one between All New X-men and Guardians of the Galaxy looks great. During the event, Jean Grey will be put on trail for the events of the Dark Phoenix Saga. I hope that this one is more consistent then Battle of the Atom, which started out great, but fell apart by the end.

Buffy10

Season 10- Admittedly, I found the Buffy side of the season 9 comics to be pretty inconsistent, but I was incredibly impressed with the quality of the Angel and Faith comics. The storylines were really well done, and I found a new favorite artist in Rebekah Issacs. I’m really happy to see that both Issacs and writer Cristos Gage will be trying their hand at the Buffy title next season. I don’t know as much about the new Angel and Faith team, but I’m excited to see what they can produce.

LokiAsgard
Loki: Agent of Asgard- With the potential exception of the new Black Widow series, Loki: Agent of Asgard is the new Marvel title that I’m the most excited about. I’m such a big fan of the Tom Hiddleston version of the character, and the fact that this comic looks to be playing with gender and sexuality (Loki is both bisexual and can shape shift between male and female form) has me really excited.

Saga
The Continuation of Saga- Saga, just keep on doing what you’re doing. I’m so impressed with the fact that the quality of this comic has yet to dip. We have one more issue coming out from the third arc in January before the comic takes another break (as it does between arcs) and diving into the fourth arc. I just hope it’s not too long a wait.

shailene-woodley-ansel-elgort-fault-in-our-stars-movie-poster
The Fault in Our Stars– Seeing at how immensely popular this book was when it was published in the beginning of 2012, it’s no surprise that the movie has been fast tracked. Still, I am somewhat nervous about this one. Will the film be able to capture all of the emotional layers of the book? Or will it simply descend into melodrama. Please don’t let me down!

how-to-train-your-dragon-2-01.jpg~original

How to Train Your Dragon 2- I fell in love with the original film when it came out in 2010, and I’ve been really pleased by everything I’ve seen about the sequel. I highly approve of their decision to age up the characters, as it will allow the characters to grow up with their fans, much like Harry Potter did. Considering they’re already working on movie 3, this better be good!

MockingjayCover

Mockingjay: Part 1- Unless I see something really impressive over the next few days, Catching Fire will probably be considered my favorite movie of 2013. There’s no denying it, they’ve done a great job with these films. Mockingjay is certainly the most divisive book in the trilogy (I loved it, but not everyone does), so I’m really curious to see how the fimmakers handle it. Also, I’m not sure where they’re going to split it up. Any ideas?

guardians_of_the_galaxy
Guardians of the Galaxy– I was torn over whether to chose this, or Captain America, but the fact that making a movie out of Guardians of the Galaxy, a title that even a lot of comics fans were familiar with pre-2013, is such a damn risky move, I can’t help but be fascinated by what the results might be. Here’s hoping Bradly Cooper’s voice for Rocket isn’t completely different then how it sounds in my head.

Doctor_Who_50th_anniversary_special_features_surprise_double_cameo_appearances

Doctor Who: Season 8– After going through seven seasons of episodes of Doctor Who since August, it’s safe to say that I’m officially hooked on the show. And it’s a pretty exiting time to be a Doctor Who fan, we have a new doctor (Peter Capaldi) entering the scene, which makes me feel like pretty much anything can happen now.  Unfortunately, I’ll have to wait until the fall to see what that might be.

SwordLaser

Sword and Laser: Season 2- Thanks to a successful kickstarter, we’re going to get a second season of the Sword and Laser video show! The first season was something I looked forward to watching every week, so I’m really excited to see what this sci-fi/fantasy book themed web series will show us in it’s second season.

Nancy&Tanner-38
MARRIAGE!- Last, and certianly not least, after over ten years of being together, Tanner and I are going to finally tie the knot. Seeing as we’ve lived together for so long, I don’t know how married life will differ from engaged/dating life, but I’m really excited to see it.

So there’s my big list. What are some of the things you’re looking forward to in 2014?

2 thoughts on “15 Reasons Why I’m Excited about 2014

Leave a Reply

