The Things I Read in November

With all of the best of 2013 lists coming out, I was inspired to pick up a few reads that came out this year. I was pretty pleased with everything I read this month (with the exception of Astonishing X-men: Xenogenesis. UGH. Guess I won’t be reading THAT comic anymore!). I’m up for discussing anything people have questions on.

Books Read
Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce- Best Book of the Month
Ancillary Justice by Anne Leckie

Audiobooks Read
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult- Best Audiobook of the Month
Hellbent by Cherie Priest

Graphic Novels Read
Justice League Dark, vol 2: The Books of Magic by Jeff Lemire
Captain Marvel, Vol 1: In Pursuit of Flight by Kelley Sue DeConnick
Astonishing X-men: Xenogenesis by Warren Ellis
Captain Marvel, Vol 2: Down by Kelley Sue DeConnick- Best Graphic Novel of the Month

Comics Read
All-New X-men #18
Guardians of the Galaxy #8
Mighty Avengers #3
Rocket Girl #2
Saga #15- Best comic book of the month
Supurbia #12
Trillium #4
Ultimate Spider-man #28
Velvet #1
X-men #7

13 thoughts on “The Things I Read in November

  1. All right…

    Ancillary Justice: Thoughts?
    The Name of the WInd: First time you’ve read it? And if so, REALLY? And if so, are you going to read the sequel?
    Hellbent: Thoughts?
    Trillium #4: That was an odd ending… online research says the mini-series is supposed to be 10 issues, and I sure hope so, because otherwise… meh?

    • Ancillary Justice- I feel a little like a dummy, cause it confused me at times, but when I got it, I quite liked it. I’m curious to see if this book is going to make waves during this year’s award season.

      The Name of the Wind- LoL, yes really. Long books really intimidate me sometimes, okay! Anyway, I had a hard time getting into it, but the more I read the more I liked it. I heard that they’re trying to make a Game of Thrones-esque TV show and I’m curious to see what they’ll leave in/take out.

      Hellbent- Liked it! Nice, quick read. Kind PO’d that there are only two books in this series though.

      Trillium- I’ve heard the same thing, which is good because there is clearly more story here to tell.

      • A.J. definitely had a learning curve, but I plan on nominating the hell out of it. Sadly, the author isn’t eligible for the Campbell as far as I can tell, as she has a few pro-published shorts under her belt.

        I’d forgotten they were going to try and adapt NotW! We will see about that…. so are you on board for the sequel? NotW was one of those books that I started reading, thinking I’d just do a chapter, and got COMPLETELY sucked into it and couldn’t put it down.

      • Indeed. Who knows when it will be? Between him and Martin (and Scott Lynch, but I don’t read him), it’s nothing but hurry up and wait! 🙂

      • When I read it, there was WAY too much hype for me going into it. It’s definitely interesting and unique in terms of settings, but I realized I just don’t like heist stories. 🙂

      • Probably will, especially since you’re far enough removed from the OMG-IT’S-BRAND-NEW-AND-SO-AWESOME hype. I was not. Not sure if I’d like the book better now if I gave it a new go, but I’m not inclined to do that or continue. But that’s me having WAY too much to read and being a grump. 🙂

Leave a Reply

