Goodbye NaNoWriMo 2013

NaNoWriMograph

Final Word Count: 65,013
Total Time Spent Writing in November: 39 hours 15 minutes
Average words written per hour: 1,656 (Not sure how that compares with other peoples writing speed but it works for me!)

Phew! And would you believe I have 20-25k left? Clearly, I have underestimated how long this draft was going to be, but that’s pretty typical of me. Anyway, I must admit this was probably the smoothest NaNoWriMo I’ve had yet. Yes, there were a handful of days when writing was tough, and I still have major structuring problems in the first half of LD3 that I’ve barely begun to fix, but I have yet to be completely  crippled by my doubts. That’s so not typical for me. I don’t know if this means the insecurities will come at me full force during the editing stages or what, but I’ll take it for now.

If you just go by word counts, 2013 would be my most successful NaNoWriMo yet. 2004’s book just topped 50k (and has never been completed). 2011 was over 63k (and has also never been completed- I swear! I’m going to revisit both of these). And 2012’s book was the second book in the Lady of Darkwood trilogy, which I’ve been working editing all year long. Honestly, LD2 probably only has a few weeks left of work in it. If only NaNo hadn’t gotten in the way, I would have been done by now! Anyway, I think what helped the most this year is the fact that I’ve turned writing into something I do when I feel motivated enough (example, during NaNoWriMo) to something that I do on pretty much a daily basis. It’s okay to take a day off (or even a little writing vacation) here and there to keep yourself from burning out, but it’s a lot easier to motivate yourself to sit down and work on something once you’ve made it a habit.

Next up, December! My goal for the month is to finish this novel. I’ve worked at a slightly accelerated pace for November, and I think I’ll continue this as long as I can in December. It’s going to be a lot easier on me if I finish before Christmas, as that’s going to be a busy time for me this year!

To everyone else who did NaNoWriMo, I hope your journey was as successful as mine. Now, the hard part begins.

4 thoughts on “Goodbye NaNoWriMo 2013

Leave a Reply

