Old Friends, Car Trouble, and the 2013 Goodreads Choice Awards

Okay! I’m going to have one of those posts where I write about the various things taking up my mental space in short form instead of making three bigger posts. Here we go!

First off, I spent a big chunk of yesterday with two of my closest friends from high school. This is a big deal for me because I am AWFUL about keeping in contact with old friends. I don’t even use facebook (hell, lately, I can’t keep up with the social networks I actually use). It ended up being a really pleasant afternoon that drew attention to how much life has changed in the ten years since high school. Both friends are facing big, very adult changes in their lives that really puts high school BS in perspective. Worrying about finding the right prom dress? Try planning a wedding.

A few weeks back, I took my car to the shop for an oil change. Low and behold, it came out with another $500 worth of repairs. This led to putting some serious thought into picking up a new (or, most likely a new-for-me/used car). I decided to wait until after the wedding, as it’s easier to plan for one big expense at a time. Then, early last week, my car started making a weird noise. I like to joke about how whenever my car makes a weird noise, five hundred dollars just happens to fall out of my pocket, but the whole thing really stressed me out. I knew that I couldn’t pay for any more repairs without digging into my savings, and digging too deep would certainly make things like Christmas, or a down payment on another vehicle, very difficult. Fortunately, it wasn’t a big issue and was taken care of for pretty cheap, but ye gads the stress! My car is about fourteen years old now. I’m not sure how much more I can get out of it while keeping my sanity intact.

Another big event (at least to me) that’s going on right now is the 2013 Goodreads Choice Awards, where all goodreads members vote in your favorite books of the year in various categories. I always get excited about this, as it allows me to praise my favorite books, as well as learn about some great looking titles. The only real problem is the Goodreads Choice Awards starts it’s first round of voting on November 4th. This means that almost two months of 2013 books, including some pretty big releases, haven’t been published yet. This led to certain titles that hadn’t been released, such as Amy Tan’s The Valley of Amazement, being announced as nominees last week, and then being voted into the second round despite the fact that not many people have probably read it yet. I can’t help but feel that they really need to push back the voting at least month. Or how about this radical idea?  Why not wait until January first! You’re much more likely to have people voting for books they’ve at least sampled, and will therefore will make more informed decisions, rather that just voting out of blind loyalty to an author.

I think I’ll be posting choices during the final round of voting. It just seems silly to do for every round.

With that, I am going to take advantage of this day off by cleaning my dirty apartment. Don’t worry fellow NaNoWriMo participants. I’ve already done my writing for today.

Leave a Reply

