Welcome to NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo Word Count: 1,817 out of 50,000

Today, it begins!

I’ve made a couple of posts already about general NaNo advice, but today I just want about my NaNoWriMo novel for this year. As it’s the third book in a trilogy, that’s going to be a little tricky.

So if you’ve been following my blog, you’ve probably seen me talk about Lady of Darkwood, the first book in the Lya Darkwood Trilogy. This the young adult fantasy book that I am currently trying to publish. This year, I have spent a great chunk of time editing what I’ve referred to as LD2, the second book in the Lya Darkwood Trilogy (I have a title, but it’s kind of spoilery for the end of Lady of Darkwood, so it’s a secret for now). I’m really close to done with this one and hope to finish it up after NaNoWriMo.

What I’m working on for this NaNoWriMo is LD3, the final book in the Lya Darkwood trilogy (and no, the title isn’t spoilery, it just might change. It already has twice). Because what I am writing is an ending, it means that I have some new challenges in front of me. I did my best to have both Lady of Darkwood and LD2 be pretty much stand alone novels (as opposed to say, The Lord of the Rings, which is really three parts to one big story). I suspect LD2 will be more enjoyable to people who have read Lady of Darkwood, as you get to experience the book-to-book character progression (same will probably go for LD3). But no matter what, you’re going to get people who pick up book two, without having read book one. Similarly, I want book three to be able to stand alone but it needs to be a solid ending too. I want the series to really feel like a whole, on top of being three separate books. I have a feeling that I won’t know if I’ve succeeded with this until I really get into my revisions, but it is something I will keep in my mind during NaNoWriMo.

But for now, I had a really nice first day. I wanted to write at least 1,800 words (because you need to get ahead while you can), and I did. Not only that, but it was a really smooth 1,800 words. I sat down knowing what my first sentence was going to be, and everything came out pretty easily. I only got tripped up a couple times when I had to remember names of ancillary characters from previous books. I sat there for an hour and managed to come out with a nice beginning. Granted, this beginning will probably look very different in the next draft, but I like what I have now. Hopefully, tomorrow will go just as smoothly.

It’s also worth mentioning that I won’t be updating this blog quite as frequently this month. Yes, I’ll be doing regular NaNo posts, but beyond that, there won’t be as much (although I have a post that I’ve been writing on and off that should come out this weekend). Not every morning of writing goes smoothly, so I suspect my blogging time might suffer as a result. Also, I’m writing a lot of words this month. I might not be in a blogging mood on top of that.

I hope everyone had as good of a first day as I did! I wish you many words.

Leave a Reply

