Month of Submissions, Week 4: Emotional Highs and Lows

Agents Queried: 14
Publishers Submitted: 2
Short Stories Submitted: 3
Responses so Far: 1 Rejection, 2 “Show me More”s

Only two days left.

I must admit, at the beginning of the month I had some big numbers in my head. I thought I’d be able to query at least thirty agents. Now that I’m at the end of it, it’s clear that that number is going to be closer to fifteen or sixteen, depending on if I find any free time tomorrow (which is unlikely). I don’t consider these numbers all that shabby. In fact, it might even be preferable, as things are easier to keep track of this way.

Much like writing, the submitting process has been filled with emotional highs and lows. It’s really easy, while struggling to write an effective query letter, or looking back at the large chunk of time spent in writing a synopsis, to think, “what’s the point? Is my writing really all that good in the first place?” But when someone says “This sounds interesting, I’d like to see more,” it brings all of that confidence back again. For this reason, I’m kind of glad I waited until my late twenties before beginning to look towards publication. I’ve been writing since I was a kid, but I was such a insecure teen, and even in my early twenties, my ego wasn’t healthy enough to take real rejection. Now, my head’s plenty big enough to deal with some criticism, even if I don’t always enjoy it. This is probably a good thing. After all, ALL published authors have to deal with bad reviews.

Well I have a busy weekend in front of me. Guess that’s one way from keeping me from checking my inbox obsessively!

4 thoughts on “Month of Submissions, Week 4: Emotional Highs and Lows

      • It’s smart that you recognized that there was a time when you were too young to deal with this sort of thing. I wish more people would discuss that side of it. I know too many people who just want to PUBLISH ASAP, without recognizing that they may not be ready for it for so many reasons, you know?

Leave a Reply

