The Things I Read in August

I doubt I’m going to finish this book by midnight, so here’s my list of things I read in August. I’m willing to discuss any of the titles below in more detail, if anyone’s interested.

Books
Doll Bones by Holly Black
The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi
Pantomine by Laura Lam- Best Book of the Month

Audiobooks
The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold
Withour a Summer by Mary Robinette Kowal- Best Audiobook of the Month
On the Edge by Ilona Andrews
The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan

Graphic Novels
Astonishing X-men, vol 4: Unstoppable by Joss Whedon
Cinderella, vol 2: Fables are Forever by Chris Roberson
Red String Omnibus 1 by Gina Biggs
Red String Omnibus 2 by Gina Biggs- Best Graphic Novel of the Month

Single Issue Comic Books
All New X-men #15
Angel & Faith #24
Guardians of the Galaxy #5
Half Past Danger #3
Lazarus #2
Uncanny X-men #9-10
The Wake #3- Best Comic book of the Month
X-men #3-4

Previous “Things I Read” Posts
The Things I Read in July
The Things I Read in June

8 thoughts on “The Things I Read in August

  1. Things I want to hear about:

    The Ghost Brigades
    Pantomime
    On the Edge
    Lazarus
    The Wake

    And now, I shall post my own August post! 🙂

    • The Ghost Brigades- Noticeably weaker than Old Man’s War, but it still had a lot of interesting bits. One things that’s really struck with me is how Jared and the other members of the Ghost Brigades were treated by others. The variety of interactions and opinions were fascinating. I missed John Perry though.

      Pantomime- Seriously, you should read this one if you haven’t yet, it’s VERY interesting. Just avoid reading reviews. There a twist about 100 pages in that will be a complete surprise to some, but not at all to others. I think it’s best to come upon the information naturally, as how we as readers react to that twist says a lot about how we view both gender and the tropes of the fantasy genre. Yes, this is kind of vague, but I don’t want to give anything away!

      On the Edge- Finally a paranormal book with some unique world building! I really liked the character of Rose and her family. Unfortunately, the romantic lead left me completely cold.

      Lazarus- Really liked getting to see more of Forever’s family in this one. Also, this begins to answer my question “are incest storylines going to become more frequent thanks to Game of Thrones?”

      The Wake- Damn. They get RIGHT to the action with this one, don’t they? Also, still really scary,

      • I’ve been eyeballing Pantomime since before it came out. Maybe one of these days….

        I felt the same way about the Scalzi and Andrews. Also, the Scalzi series gets better with book three. 🙂

        I’ve got Lazarus #3 in my comic TBR, but I’m waiting for the hubby to read it first. *grumps*

      • On Scalzi- Good thing I have book 3 on my shelf then! Yay for library sales 🙂

        I can only hit the comic book store about once a month, so I don’t even have my hands on Lazarus #3 (or Saga for that matter). It’s a little frustrating, cause with the exception of the digital comics that Tanner buys, I always feel that a step behind everyone.

      • Don’t feel bad. My husband insists on reading the comics “first,” so I’m still waiting on Lazarus #3, among other things. He reads at his leisure, so it’s a bit frustrating! The only comic that I read but he doesn’t is Batgirl, which, btw, you may want to pick up. It’s got two collections to date!

      • Yeah I’ve been thinking about checking out the library for Batgirl (and the Batwoman collection I haven’t read yet). I read the first issue of Batgirl and to be honest, it didn’t grab me all that much. Since then, I’ve heard such good things about it that I might have to give it a second chance.

      • BATWOMAN! Start with ELEGY if your library has it, then move to the New 52 stuff. You’ll be glad you did.

        Also, I hope I sound coherent. I’ve had one margarita and two white Russians tonight. 🙂

      • I’ve read Elegy and To Drown the World but haven’t made it further. Hardcovers are so expensive, so I’m depending on the library for these.

        And you’re impressively coherent considering you have three drinks in you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

