Getting Ready for the Month of Submissions

It’s been a pretty good week so far. The process of getting back on the writing wagon after a week away from it has gone well so far. I feel recharged, not out of synch. But since I’m not ready to go back to LD2 (my current WIP), as it’s in the hands of my first readers, I’d thought I’d take the next month to focus on the side of the writing life that I struggle with the most: querying agents, and submitting to publishers.

One of my new years resolutions for the year was to get Lady of Darkwood (last year’s big writing project) on that road to publication. Since then, while I’ve done really well about writing regularly, I have only queried two agents. This is something I really want to work on next month. This will involve polishing up that query letter, writing a synopsis (the two agents I have already submitted to didn’t want one), and finding more agents to submit to. I will also be looking at publishers that accept unagented submissions. There aren’t very many of them, but they exist.

While doing this, I’ll be doing some work on my short fiction. I will also be looking into the option of self publishing, which is sort of a plan B now. I can certainly see the appeal in going the self published route, but I want to try the traditional route first.

Who knows what will come out of it, but I suspect that September will an educational experience.

3 thoughts on “Getting Ready for the Month of Submissions

  1. Pingback: Harper Voyager to accept unagented submissions

Leave a Reply

