On NOT Writing Every Day

As I mentioned in my last post, I am currently four days into a writing vacation. After almost eight months of writing pretty much every day, I decided it was time to take a step back and recharge. The first couple days of this vacation didn’t feel all that different. After all, I’m taking the hour or so that I would dedicate to writing each day and putting it towards the things that often get put off due to writing (basically, I’m doing a lot of cleaning), so it’s not as if I’m gaining any extra time each day. But by day three, it started to get a little weird. Finding time to write almost every day has really become a habit of mine. This is comforting, but there’s no denying that the break was still needed. Things were getting to be a little tedious.

There’s also no denying that my apartment is shaping up quite nicely. I’m not saying that the place is clutter free, but after a few days of dusting, sweeping, and mopping, I can’t help but feel that this is probably what the place should look like all the time. Too bad that’s not really possible (unless someone wants to hire a maid for me!). It’s not like I haven’t done any of these actions in the past eight months, but things were really getting to a critical moment. I probably should have taken before and after pictures of my desk. For a while, you couldn’t even see the desk!

The final day of the writing vacation will be Sunday, August 26th. Then on Monday, everything will go back to normal! I hope I can get back on the wagon with relative ease.

2 thoughts on “On NOT Writing Every Day

  1. You know, I really, really like your mentality. The planned break may be something I need to start doing, because otherwise when I finish a project, I’m just lost in the wind and justifying the need to be away from my computer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

