So Happy!

So, there are a lot of things that make me happy right now. Spent the afternoon playing an RPG with some friends, a lot of people have read (and seem to enjoy) my latest short story, The Brightest Shade of Gray, a good Samaritan returned my missing car keys when they could have just as easily stolen The Civic (whoever you are, THANK YOU), and to top it off, I finished the latest draft of my WIP LD2.

Admittedly, this is just the second draft, but being done with the second draft means it’s finally ready for my first readers to take a look at it. I’ve let them know that no rush is needed, as I’m planning on taking at least a month off from the novel, and I want them to take the time they need. I do have some concerns over the draft, but I’m just going to let them read it an give me their responses naturally. Then I’ll pepper them with questions.

So this begs the question, what am I going to do next? First off, I’m going to take a writing vacation.

At the beginning of the year, I made it a new years resolution to write for (on average) an hour a day, and I’ve actually surpassed that. As a reward, I’m going to take a week off to recharge creatively and focus on some of the areas of my life that I’ve been neglecting (an embarrassingly large portion of those are related to housework). Then, I’ll work on a little short fiction for the last week of the month. Come September, I will be having my “month of queries” where I finally knuckle down on querying agents, and publishers for my completed novel, Lady of Darkwood. This shit is a lot less fun than writing, so it’s not going to be the most exciting month, but it is necessary. Hopefully, having the second book in my trilogy close to completion will convince people that writing one book was not just a fluke for me. I really want something to come out of this.

After that? Who knows! I want to do NaNoWriMo again this year, but I’ll see what the next couple months bring first. I feel that LD2, while not perfect, has a lot going for it. Hopefully my first readers can provide me with the feedback I need to address any remaining concerns and help my with a final draft.

3 thoughts on “So Happy!

  1. Go you!!!

    BTW: I’ve bookmarked your short stories to read later. I just haven’t been in the right mood to read fiction on my computer screen lately. 🙂

    • Thanks for letting me know! They’re not massively long, but I know my attention span for reading something off of a computer is kind of short, so I suspect that from others as well.

  2. Pingback: On NOT Writing Every Day | Picking Up the Pen

Leave a Reply

