5 Things That Make Me Happy Right Now

Life can be a complex, frustrating thing, filled with rejection and unanswered questions. In such times, it’s best to keep the emphasis on the positive. So instead of posting about things I shouldn’t be talking about on the internet anyway, let’s make a silly post about some things that are making me happy right now.

All-New-X-Men_6

1. X-men
It’s a good time to be an X-men fan. I’m loving the current run on All New X-men, which features the original teenage X-men team coming to the future and discovering the utter messes their lives have become. Cyclopes has murdered Professor X and is currently working with Magneto. Jean Grey is dead. This comic really emphasizes the fact that how you picture your future is usually different than where you ultimately end up, which I find very poignant. I’d recommend checking out the first two collections from your library (Yesterday’s X-men, and Here to Stay), to catch up. As far as current comics go, Uncanny X-men, although not as consistent, has some interesting moments as well. The famously all female X-men title has proven to be intriguing, if not yet a must read.

Another title that’s made me excited to be an X-men is Joss Whedon’s run on Astonishing X-men. This is an older series that I’m currently reading with the trades. It’s a fascinating title with really interesting character moments are stand out artwork. I’ve read the first three volumes and plan on finishing up Whedon’s run with volume 4 once I can get it from the library. I also found the newest Wolverine movie to be a lot of fun. Not as good as the first two X-men movies, but miles ahead of the first Wolverine movie, and The Last Stand. I’d say it’s about on par with First Class.

EmmaApproved

2. Emma Approved
This is more of a potential future awesome thing than a current awesome thing, but Pemberly Digital, the folks behind the awesome web series The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, are going to be launching their next adaptation in the fall, and it’s going to be Jane Austen’s Emma! This makes me excited because it’s the book I’d really hope they’d be turning their attention to next. Sense and Sensibility is a great read, but so close thematically to Pride and Prejudice that the series may feel like it’s covering already well worn territory. Emma seems like a better choice to me, if simply because a modern day Emma Woodhouse would totally seem like the type of person to bring a camera around with her everywhere, over sharing her life on the internet. I really hope this will be good, as I’m not really feeling their current project Welcome to Sanditon, which isn’t bad, but doesn’t hold up to Lizzie’s standards.

3. The Legend of Korra. Book 2: Spirits
During Comic-Con, Nickelodeon released the slow, moody trailer for Season 2 of The Legend of Korra, and boy am I excited for it. Spirits, as one might imagine, promises to deliver more information on the spiritual side of the Avatar-verse, which is an area ripe for interesting developments. From what I’ve head, the season will also give us a better glimpse at both Korra’s family and Tenzin’s family, the latter which makes me excited because any situation that makes Tenzin uncomfortable is instantly entertaining. Spirits will be coming out in September.

WithoutSummerx230

4. The Glamourist Histories
Mary Robinette Kowal’s Glamourist Histories series combines the setting and sensibilities of a Jane Austen novel with a fantasy elements, and the results are quite interesting. I found the first book Shades of Milk and Honey to be a good read, if somewhat weighed down by it’s dependence on Austen tropes, but the series has simply gotten more and more entertaining since then. I’m currently on book three, Without a Summer, which the strongest in the series yet. Another element that has improved with each book is the quality of the audiobook. The author herself narrates the audio versions and does so with the same level of quality you’d find in someone who’s entire career is audiobook narration. Well done.

5. LD2
This is my current work in progress, the second book in the Lya Darkwood trilogy, and I am THIS CLOSE to being done with draft two (which is technically my third draft when counting my rough draft. And if you wanted to count that weird unfinished proto-draft that that proceeded it..). To be honest, I’m really happy with how it’s turned out. Granted, I am familiar with this feeling of post-revision glow. Sometimes the process of simply seeing how far a novel has come from draft to draft can feel like an enormous accomplishment. The real test will come when I send it off to my first readers who, being fresh to the story and having not spent a almost a year on it, will be able to judge the character arcs, plotlines, and smoothness of writing far better than I can. Granted, the moment after I send the draft away is typically where I begin to fret about all of those little issues that may in fact be BIG issues, and maybe the whole book is confusing and doesn’t make any SENSE…

But let’s focus on the positive for now, shall we? What are some things that are making you happy right now?

4 thoughts on “5 Things That Make Me Happy Right Now

Leave a Reply

