Do you Read Self Published Novels?

So I’ve been thinking a lot about self publishing today (I blame this fascinating interview with Wool author Hugh Howey), including the possibility of self publishing The Lya Darkwood Trilogy. In truth, I’m still really on the fence about the idea. Would being having the words “self published” or “Indie” tied to my name make people less likely to pick up my work? Do people even read self published authors? Personally, I’ve sampled a few, and have a few more sitting on my wishlist on goodreads, but it makes up a relatively small portion of my reading diet.

This topic occupied quite a bit my my mental state, as I was driving back from my parent’s place in southern Maine. By the time I reached my apartment, I realized that my pretty new blog has a poll function! Why not ask the people who read my blog? It may be a small group, but it’s not a terrible place to start.

So if you please, take a look at the options in this pool and pick the answer that best fits you. If you’d like to elaborate further, the comment section is your friend!

7 thoughts on “Do you Read Self Published Novels?

  1. I can’t answer the poll. The answer is I don’t and the only reason I would is if I had a really, really, really compelling reason to do so. There’s just too much published stuff out there, which means it’s been “vetted,” so to speak, you know? It’s not to say self-pubs are all crap either: but there’s so much being published the regular way it’s hard to make time for anything else.

    Yet it would be easier for me to read something self-published if it was released in installments, like on a blog. If that makes sense. It’s an idea I’ve toyed with for my own work, but only if I’ve exhausted all other options.

    • Damn, and I tried really hard to cover all of the options!

      But thanks for elaborating here. I’ve heard the argument that the “vetting” process happens after the book is published. If it’s crappy, not many people will buy it and it will fade into obscurity. If it’s good, a lot of people will buy it and recommend it to friends and therefore it will succeed. It’s an interesting argument. but I’m not sure I buy it.

      • Your option of “No, but I would if a title caught my interest,” was close, but almost too forgiving for my preference. I’m just picky. 🙂

        And I’m not sure I buy it either. There’s no accounting for people loving bad things, you know? And just because the masses LOVE something doesn’t mean that you, as an individual, are going to like it or find it to be your taste.

      • “There’s no accounting for people loving bad things, you know?”

        Hence the massive (and baffling) success of the Transformers franchise.

        And there’s also the issue of something that’s really well done, but the author in question just doesn’t know how to market it. There are plenty of good things that just pass under people’s radar.

  2. I don’t care if a book was self-published or traditionally published. I care about editing. If I find more than one or two errors in the first chapter, I probably won’t read the book.

    Almost all books have errors in them, but some self-published books are unreadable. Some are close to perfect.

    Most traditionally published books only have a few errors for the whole book. I haven’t foudn one yet that’s flat out unreadable due to grammar and spelling errors.

Leave a Reply

