The Things I Read in June

This is something that I used to do in my book blog that I’ve decided to bring over here. Here’s a list of everything I’ve read this month. I’ve highlighted a few of my favorites. As you can see, it was a comics-heavy month. Must be the Saga withdrawal (come back, Saga!).

Books
A Star Shall Fall by Marie Brennan- Best Book of the Month
Shift by Hugh Howey
Heir to the Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier

Audiobooks
Night of the Living Trekkies by Kevin David Anderson and Sam Stall
Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson
The Warrior’s Apprentice by Lois McMaster Bujold- Best Audiobook of the Month

Graphic Novels
Fables, Vol 14: Witches by Bill Willingham
Fables, Vol 15: Rose Red by Bill Willingham- Best Graphic Novel of the Month
Fables, Vol 16: Super Team by Bill Willingham
Fables, Vol 17: Inherit the Wind by Bill Willingham

Single Issue Comic Books
Akaneiro #1
All New X-men #12-13
Angel and Faith (Season 9) #21
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Season 9) #21
East of West #1-3
Guardians of the Galaxy #3-4
Half Past Danger #1- Nicest Surprise of the Month
Jupiter’s Legacy #1
Lazarus #1- Best Comic of the Month. This is a MUST READ for dystopia fans!
Ultimate Comics: All New Spiderman #22
Ultimate Comics: All New Spiderman #23
Uncanny X-men #7
Supurbia #7
X-men #1-2

Open to discussing any of the titles for those interested!

10 thoughts on “The Things I Read in June

  1. How are you liking East of West? I love Hickman’s work as a rule, but this isn’t quite doing it for me.

    Lazarus was awesome.

    And a comic rec for you: The Wake by Scott Snyder. First two issues are out now.

    • I feel really conflicted on East of West. On one hand, it really grabs me on a visual level. The art has this really attractive sharpness to it, and the design of each issue really just stands out among the others on the shelf. As far as the story goes, I find I like a lot of the elements, but I don’t think they’re always told in the best way. I don’t think I’ll be reading any more of the single issues, but I’ll give it a try when the trade comes out at the library. Maybe I’ll pick up The Wake instead. Been meaning to read some of Snyder’s work.

      And glad to hear someone else is liking Lazarus!

      • If you want to read Hickman, I highly recommend checking out The Manhattan Projects and/or NIGHTLY NEWS (which was his debut, and it was pretty amazing).

      • Okay, just thought of a few more comics/graphic novels to read if you haven’t yet:

        Locke & Key by Joe Hill
        The Unwritten by Mike Carey (this one is a must for you)

      • Both of those (especially Unwritten!) are on my wish list, the key is getting to them! Right now, I have vol 17 of Fables (the final one out until December!) and the first volume of Joss Whedon’s run on Astonishing X-men, Way too many good titles to read! I wish I didn’t wait until just the past few years to get into comics.

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed Warrior’s Apprentice. I’m always excited to see people making their way through the Vorkosigan series.

  3. Pingback: The Things I Read in July | Picking Up the Pen

  4. Pingback: The Things I Read in August | Picking Up the Pen

Leave a Reply

