Month of Submissions: Final Report and Looking Forward

Agents Queried: 15
Publishers Submitted: 2
Short Stories Submitted: 3
Responses so Far: 2 Rejections, 2 “Show me More”s

Aaand We’re done! In truth, I’m kind of glad for it. At first, it was fun putting together the synopses, researching the agents, and watching my agent spreadsheet grow, but now I’m eager to get back to the business of writing and revising. I’ve cast out many lines for Lady of Darkwood, and am curious to see if any of them will be successful, or at least, result in some helpful feedback. I suspect October will be a more relaxed month. I will continue my quest to work on writing every day, but instead of being hyper focused on one task, I’ll let myself float a little. Maybe work on some short fiction to start. And I know at least one of my first readers is close to being done on the sequel to Lady of Darkwood, so starting on those final edits will be good. And then of course, there’s NaNoWriMo, which starts in just over a month. Right now I’m planning on finishing up the Lya Darkwood trilogy with the final book (just called LD3 for now). I predict it will be close to 75,000 words, so finishing during November is dubious, but if I can bang out close to 60,000, I will be more than satisfied. Anyone else doing NaNo this year?

And as promised, here is my cheat sheet to the helpful resources I’ve utilized during my month of submissions. Hopefully, they’ll be of use to other people who are searching for agents.

AgentQuery- Allows you to find quick information on agents. Great if you’re searching by genre.

How to Find a (REAL) Literary Agent- the late AC Crispin gives fantastic advice on querying good agents and protecting yourself from the bad ones.

Publisher’s Marketplace- Find out information about agents including submission guidelines and recent sales. Google guided me here A LOT

Preditors and Editors- Make sure the agents you’ve contacted aren’t guilty of shady activities

QueryTracker- Was brought to this page several times through google. Know an author that writes books similar to yours? Find out who their agent is and see if they’re interested in representing you. Need a membership to search in house, but I was able to do all searches through google.

Reddit: Living Off of Your Writing for Fantasy Authors- Discussion thread about the difficulties of living off of your writing.

Sfwa.org- Great information on here for new writers. Don’t even need to be a full fledged member to read them!

William Shunn: Manuscript Format- Make sure your manuscript looks professional!

Writer’s Beware- Educate yourself about the scams out there so you don’t get caught up in them. I’d suggest subscribing to the blog.

Writer’s Digest: Successful Queries- Collection of book-selling queries with commentary from real agents

And of course the best resource of all were often the agent’s themselves. Every agent is looking for something different, so make sure you look at EVERYTHING before clicking send on that email. I know I rushed through one and missed out on the fact that they wanted their query letters structured a little differently then I had realized. It’s like applying for a job. You need to know what you’re getting into before submitting your resume.

4 thoughts on “Month of Submissions: Final Report and Looking Forward

  1. I’ll definitely have to remember this post (if you haven’t, perhaps you should link to it in your site somewhere?)! Congrats on reaching the end. I have to say, I admire the way you’ve gone about all of this. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

